Posted by: Success Coach Toni Miller | July 27, 2008

Dear Imaginary Partner,

I’ve been busy, way to busy to open up to a relationship so I invented you.  I think you are my gateway to the real thing however.  I feel myself being open now to having a good man in my life.  As I see it, as I write this, I have grown to an understanding of who I truly am and am now able to offer myself as an authentic gift.  I see myself as that.  Is that egotistical to you?  If so, delete, delete, delete.  I am not for you.  My ego does not exist here.  My true self does.

 

Today was my day to do with as I saw fit.  I got up early (5:45 am) and let the cat and dog out.  I fed them and went back to bed.  My head, as it reconnected with my pillow, gently filled with ideas of how I wanted to spend my day today.  Shortly thereafter I got out of bed, made coffee and sipped it as I read the paper.  I love doing that on Sunday mornings.

 

After breakfast I went to my desk, cleared it a bit and made my list of what I wanted to do.  I watched the Today Show on NBC this morning and a man from workplace911 talked about making a list of you want to accomplish before turning on your computer at the start of the day.  He made a good point.  Before the distractions begin, make a plan of What Matters Most!  What a concept.  And it worked.

 

I completed a few research projects, did some writing, paid my bills and wrote emails.  I made time to talk to family and friends on the phone.  I took a long walk with my dog and talked with neighbors.  I cooked myself a delicious dinner of chicken piccata and watched 60 Minutes on CBS.

 

I have had so many great ideas today for my business.  I wish you were real.  I would have sat on the couch with you and discussed possibilities.  I would have appreciated your feedback.  And I would have so enjoyed your smile as you took the first bite of dinner.  It turned out really well.

 

I would like to “shut down” with you now.  Forget the details of the day and just relax with a cozy setting to watch a movie together or just read in each others company.

 

Ahh, life is good.

 

 


Leave a comment

Categories