Posted by: Success Coach Toni Miller | November 30, 2008

I miss my dog!

I never had children…at least not human ones.  My pets are my kids and one recently died.  I am sadder than I even know.  Funny how the emotions show up when you least expect them to.

 

Marilyn was a beautiful American Eskimo and yes, I named her after Marilyn Monroe for obvious reasons.  She was so pleasing to the eye and even more so to my heart.  I rescued her 14 years ago.  I was married at the time and she rounded out our family…man, woman, cat & dog.  Perfect.  When I was divorced, I got custody thank God.  That was nine years ago and Marilyn has taken care of me ever since.  She gave me purpose lost by a marriage ending.  I had a reason to come home gleefully every night so she could greet me.  I got to walk her 4 times a day.  The neighbors must wonder where we have been.  I wish someone would come and ask me.  I want to talk about her.

 

I stop and tell people when I see them.  Now I am letting the universe know that she has left the neighborhood. 

 

I think she let me go.  I think she knew I would be okay on my own now.  I recently found purpose in my life, something I have searched for all my life.  She must have known that although I will miss her madly that I have a reason to get up in the morning now other than to walk her.

 

This is Thanksgiving Day weekend.  Marilyn died 2 weeks ago.  Her absence has really hit me these past 4 days at home.  It’s weird.  I realize I need to get out more.  I got a few long runs in.  My loving cat Sally has comforted me greatly and she started eating more.  I think she knew Marilyn was sick.  And let’s face it; she loves all the attention she is getting.

 

Grief is so intangible.  It can’t be explained, only felt and dealt with individually and personally.  I am thankful to have had her in my life.  I am glad I have had these few days to feel my loss.  After all, she was my little girl. 

 

 

 

In loving memory.

In loving memory.

 


Responses

  1. She was a beautiful American Eskimo Dog.

    So sorry for you loss. It’s really hard to lose such a great companion animal.

    Marilyn had a great life with you. Thanks for rescuing her.

  2. Thank you for your sincere thoughts. Marilyn was the first American Eskimo Dog I ever met. It was love at first sight.

    You do good and loving work rescuing these great animals. God bless you and everyone that benefits from adopting one of your rescues. They will be protected and loved, as I was… and forever grateful.


Leave a comment

Categories