Posted by: Success Coach Toni Miller | March 11, 2008

What does success mean to me?

Because I feel that I have sabotaged myself in the past, I worked with my coach tonight on figuring out what my UAC’s (underlying automatic commitments) are pertaining to my work.  I admitted that I tend to take on challenges that are bigger than life because I love a good challenge.  It brings out the best in me.  And sometimes I take on jobs that I don’t have experience in only to end up pointing the finger at someone else when things break down.  And because I have done that I sometimes get scared that I won’t prevail in my quest to be a successful coach. 

I think I worked through that tonight.  The difference is that honestly I feel comfortable with the idea of being a successful coach.  I feel I have finally found a field  that is not only challenging, it is a great learning experience for me, and I don’t feel it is a “stretch”.  I am not trying to be something I am not.  I really want to do good things for others and in turn feel that I have made a contribution to the world.  To do my little part to make this a better place for me and the people I coach.

My coach asked me how I defined success.  My answer was ” to do something well for a long time” and that because I have had many different jobs and career focuses I wasn’t sure I had ever demonstrated success.  So I was asked to list some things I had done successfully over time.  Well guess what?  I came up with a nice little list.

  • I’ve run 2 marathons in the past 2 1/2 years.
  • I have been a good mother to my animals over the past 28 years.
  • I quit smoking 5 years ago.
  • I pay my bills, always have and am not in debt.
  • I’ve worked since my 16th birthday with little down time.
  • I am a survivor.

I think we all get caught up from time to time with comparing ourselves to others.   I did that when I was unemployed and feeling low.  Easy to do at times like that.  But to me success isn’t monetary or society based (although I like money and being well thought of by my peers).  Keeping myself in a safe and healthy environment is important to me.  Being kind and grateful fulfills me.  Feeling responsible for my actions and their effect on others is something that keeps me accountable and honest.  And being honest and demonstrating trust to others and to myself keeps me humble.  I think all that is what success really means to me.


Leave a comment

Categories